Election Process

Each Electorate holds four seats, two for Maori and two for non-Maori.  In total the combined twelve Electorates hold forty-eight seats, twenty-four for Maori and twenty-four for non-Maori.  The election outcome for all seats is based on the highest votes and successful applicants hold their seats for a four year term.

Iwi Structure

Iwi Runanga made up of collective of
Hapu Representatives

Hapu Representatives nominated to
Iwi Runanga

Whanau Representatives nominated to
Hapu Runanga


Process Flowchart

Members of Paremata & Runanga Representatives

Out of the four seats per Electorate, two members (one Maori and one non-Maori) enter the House (Paremata—stern of a canoe) as Members of Paremata and two members (one Maori and one Non-Maori) remain in the Runanga (Electorate) as Runanga Representatives.

A Referendum allows for a By-election to be held to fill vacant seats and to allow those Electorates that did not reach their 1% registration to participate in the next elections.  If required, the by-election date would be determined when the House sits.

We use cookies to improve your experience and to help us understand how you use our site. Please refer to our cookie notice and privacy policy for more information regarding cookies and other third-party tracking that may be enabled.


Join us today, our voices can create a future for Aotearoa we can all be proud of!

© 2021 - This website has been created by Ko Huiarau web designers.

Email icon
YouTube icon
Intuit Mailchimp logo