Ko Huiarau Infrastructure

The Ko Huiarau infrastructure is based on a two-tier system that forms an UPPER HOUSE and LOWER HOUSE.

The Upper House is made up of Ariki who whakapapa to the original ariki lines who protect the sovereignty and mandate that support and endorse the Taiopuru.

The Lower House is made up of the Rangatira who through whakapapa support Hapu and Iwi governance, and the election amongst themselves of representatives nominated to the Hapu Runanga (Local authorities), and onwards to Iwi Runanga (Tribal authorities) and finally onto the Runanga Ko Huiarau (National authority).

Te Whare Wai Hau Tapu - The Upper House
Te Whare E Ruru Huhunga - The Lower House

Iwi Structure

Iwi Runanga made up of collective of
Hapu Representatives

Hapu Representatives nominated to
Iwi Runanga

Whanau Representatives nominated to
Hapu Runanga


Internals for Marae based Hapu

Te Moananui a Kiwa

'Whaka Ahua Te Ao Marama' or the sacred mirror triangle of Te Moananui A Kiwa is a map from ancient Maori dimensions of the heavens and corresponds exactly with ancient Hawaiian and Tahitian dimensions. Te Moananui A Kiwa encompasses
all countries within the triangles

* The area outlined in this map as "Te Moananui A Kiwa" are the countries
that may participate and sit within the House of Te Monanui A Kiwa in t
he Ko
Huiarau Upper House infrastructure.

1893 Whare O Raro

1893 Whare Ariki

We use cookies to improve your experience and to help us understand how you use our site. Please refer to our cookie notice and privacy policy for more information regarding cookies and other third-party tracking that may be enabled.


Join us today, our voices can create a future for Aotearoa we can all be proud of!

© 2021 - This website has been created by Ko Huiarau web designers.

Email icon
YouTube icon
Intuit Mailchimp logo